Crop Circles

Science Fiction Ramblings

The Fable of Old Flat Head: Part One

Leave a comment

In my first two posts, I took a stab at the ‘why’ and ‘what’ of the stuff I write.  Now, those are respectable questions, well behaved, manageable and destined for a solid middle-class life on a comfortable planet somewhere.  My third question isn’t manageable at all.  In fact, like a tiny highly localized black hole, this question is going to consume my blog.  You see what I really want to figure out is ‘how’ I do this writing thing.  I get plenty of advice – mostly read a lot and write a lot.  I’ve tried that, I’m still trying that, but I’m a scientist and I love protocols.  Break it down.  Distill it.  Kill it.  Can that approach work with fiction?   Perhaps.  I’ve recently gotten some inspiration from a friend of mine who has a web site where she provides a step-by-step view of her painting work (http://minipainterjen.blogspot.com/).  Inspired by Jen, I’m going to try my own experiment.  I’ve started a project tentatively named “The Fable of Old Flat Head”.    “The Fable of Old Flat Head” was born when a friend of mine posted a link on my face book page.  She simply said, “You should write a story about this:

cat meme

http://imgur.com/zunq5b2.  I looked at it and said, “Awwww.  Kittens!  I can write something super cute about kittens!”  Six months later, here I am.  I’m going to try to put my brainstorming, drafts and a finished project up here.  Stay tuned for part two in which I ramble about fables, Sluggy Freelance and horrible childhood memories.

Author: KMolyneaux

Author, Knitter, ex-Academic

Leave a Reply

