Crop Circles

Science Fiction Ramblings

I Got Nothing

Leave a comment

Or at least, nothing related to eels. This doesn’t mean that I haven’t been busy. I’ve been working my way through my library’s e-book collection, discovering Joe Abercrombie, John Scalzi, and in general, enjoying the hell out of having a Kindle. The thing is truly magical. You hit a button and >poof< a book appears in your house. Personally, I’d like to replace the button with some kind of cool conjuring phrase: something traditional like “Alakazam!”, esoteric like “Spoon!” or pure pop culture like “I choose you, Pikachu!”. All right, that last one’s not so cool, but you get the idea and even if you don’t, all this talk about reading and magic words is just meant to distract from the fact that I haven’t been working on the novel. Instead, I’m having a little side affair with an absolutely awesome short story. His name is “Tick”, but he has nothing to do with big blue justice. He’s all about bugs. You buy them from the alien jewelry store at the space mall. You wear them, they look pretty, but every so often they find a host they can influence and it turns out they ain’t too happy about being enslaved. I’d like to show off some snippets of “Tick”, but it feels wrong to expose him in the blog. The job of this site is to guilt me into finishing projects, particularly longer ones. It’s working. I feel horrible. Honestly I do. I promise to get over this affair and get back to Persephone, Arch and all their anti-gravity nonsense. Until I do, just keep saying “Abrakadabra!” over and over again. Hopefully I'll finish a draft of the novel before you get burned for being a witch.

Author: KMolyneaux

Author, Knitter, ex-Academic

Leave a Reply

